The Waiting is the Hardest Part, Part II or How I Learned to Reject Rejection

Hello fellow unpublished writers! It’s been a while since I’ve posted on here and I’ve been busy doing what all of us unpublished hopefuls do: subbing manuscripts to different houses, querying agents, researching and rewriting.

I felt so blessed to receive a welcome from a children’s book publisher after only subbing to a few houses for my first picture book kids’ bio. After three sets of revisions in a year and a half, I thought I was on my way to publication. It was too good to be true.  Last week after hundreds of hours of revisions and rewrites and putting my heart full steam into this project, the publisher decided not to continue to fruition with my book.  I was crushed.  It took over my emotions for a week, I truly was devastated. I had marketing plans and ideas for school visits to promote this worthy book I had worked so hard on and it all was over.  The associate editor who was an advocate for me had been outvoted by other editors and possibly the marketing department, as I assume my work was not as commercial as they wanted, but more suitable for a school or educational market.  As a children’s  librarian I am now learning  a lot about the business world of publishing!

So I’ve had to pick myself up, resub my polished manuscript and go on to work on some other manuscripts and now play the waiting game all over again.  Strategies now include getting an agent as well, so I don’t have to play the editing waiting game.   I will attend writing workshops or conferences in hopes of meeting editors or agents face to face.  Hopefully by the end of 2015 I will hear some good news. And I will continue to aggressively follow the children’s book market that I so love.

One thought on “The Waiting is the Hardest Part, Part II or How I Learned to Reject Rejection

  1. Pingback: The Waiting is the Hardest Part, Part II or How I Learned to Reject Rejection | libraryinspirations

Leave a Reply

