The Light in August

10534762_516733315138666_9210007202563249930_nGreetings, friends.

I took a vacation from this blog for a few weeks and devoted my time to revising my picture book biography manuscript about the inventor Lewis Latimer for the second time.  My editor at Lee and Low publishers in NYC had some great suggestions for simplifying my story and I think that will make it a better read and more appealing to an audience of 8 to 12 year olds who are interested in science and history.

This has been almost a two year project and I hope this biography has its book birthday sometime in 2015. I have been blessed and am thankful for the opportunity to become a first time author.

As some of you know, I abandoned writing dreams for over 20 years of teaching, but always loved teaching writing and revising to kids of all ages. The writer in me came back alive about two years ago when I met with two important authors at a NJ Librarians’ convention. Ann Malaspina and Audrey Glassman Vernick are 2  NJ children’s book writers extraordinaire, who have supported me in my journey, in addition to many friends. Audrey and I went to the same elementary school in Queens, NYC, and have talked about the children’s librarian we loved, who had a great influence on us today as adult readers and writers.

Here’s hoping the third time’s a charm!  I will continue to edit some other multicultural kids manuscripts I have written, and hope to soon start a new bio about a little known female artist with ties to Haiti, as most of the kids I teach are from this country and do not have many books to read about role models from their native land.

2 thoughts on “The Light in August

Leave a Reply

